The Diamond

18 Dec

I want to share with you an Indian parable:   A long time ago, a sannyasi (wise man) reached the outskirts of the village and settled down to sleep for the night under a comfortable tree.

A man approached him said “The stone!  You must be the one with the stone! Please give me the precious stone!”

“What stone?” replied the sannyasi. 

The man said, “Last night the Lord appeared to me in a dream and told me that if I went to the outskirts of the village at dusk I would find a man under a tree who would give me a precious stone that would make me rich for the rest of my life”.

The sannyasi rummaged through his bag and pulled out a stone. “Well he probably meant this one that I just found a few days ago” he said, as he handed over a very large diamond to the man. “You can have it”.

The man gazed at the uncut diamond in wonder. It was the biggest diamond he had ever seen and needed two hands just to hold it. He took the diamond under his coat and ran home with it.

All night he tossed around in his bed, unable to sleep.

At the crack of dawn he could not take it any longer, and placed his long coat on to go find the sannyasi again. As he woke up the wise man under the tree he said, “Please share with me the wealth that makes it possible for you to give this diamond away so easily.”

Leave a Reply

